Motherhood is not a cakewalk…


motherhood

motherhood

My friends told me their motherhood experiences when I was still a spinster and I thought how nice it would be to hold your baby in your arms, see the cute smile on their faces, play with them and cuddle their soft bodies… Little did I know about the pain that lay subtle in the path that led to motherhood… My husband told me I should be really ready for taking all the sacrifices and pains, considering the 24/7 full time job without any retirement if at all I was considering  motherhood during the initial days of our marriage… I shot back with lots of logical reasoning like how nature prepares a woman to face this new phase in life and that a woman becomes complete only after she becomes a mother… As usual, I saw the sarcastic smile on Denis’ face, I felt so angry with his expression and I just fumed with anger!

Now a days when I wriggle with pain due to the severe heart burn and with my cervix dilating and absolutely no sleep, I perfectly understand what he meant by that smirk! My fellow beings on the journey towards motherhood, I’m sure you’d agree with me when I say motherhood is not a cakewalk at all,righto???

Motherhood has relaxed me in many ways. You learn to deal with crisis. I’ve become a juggler, I suppose. It’s all a big circus, and nobody who knows me believes I can manage, but sometimes I do. ” –Jane Seymour

Motherhood: All love begins and ends there. ” – Robert Browning

The art of motherhood involves much silent, unobtrusive self-denial, an hourly devotion which finds no detail too minute. ” – Honore De Balzac

The natural state of motherhood is unselfishness. When you become a mother, you are no longer the center of your own universe. You relinquish that position to your children. ” – Jessica Lange


~ by Sabitha Denis on July 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
